Why do you guys use BSD?

Hi, all. My name is John Paul Wohlscheid. I’m a writer for It’s FOSS. We usually write about Linux but are starting to cover BSD topics. (Yes, there is a TrueOS review in the works.)

I recently published an interview with the lead dev of MidnightBSD. Since the majority of our readers are Linux users, several people commented asking why people would use BSD over Linux, especially when there is so much more support for Linux, especially in terms of hardware and applications.

I’m here to get your side. I’m working on an article about why people should use BSD. Why do you guys use BSD over Linux? Why have some of you left Linux for BSD? Why should a person leaving Windows take a look at BSD before Linux?

All answers have a chance of being quoted in the future article.

Thanks in advance for your help?

For those NOT on telegram, john was there a week or so ago.

This is a legitimate question

edit:
JohnBlood, I’ll assume you did read the comments from the other evening as well.

Why using BSD?

Install it once. Keep one and the same installation up-to-date. No need to reinstall. Ever. Over decades.

That doesn’t answer my question. A Linux user could say the same. My question is what makes BSD better.

Yes, I did. I will make use of that information, as well.

I’m assuming you want more than “It’s not Linux and no systemd”? Yes that is just kidding.

Better is in the eye of the beholder.

For me, I’ve been a FreeBSD user for a long time as my home desktop (probably 3.3 or so). I went through Linux distributions early on in the “need specific version of Soundblaster card to use a CDROM”, went through a.out to ELF transition, RedHat from probably their first or second release, still use Linux at work.