Problems with Ports

Hi Guys

I am pretty new to TrueOS/BSD. Running 2017-02-09

I was originally trying to get the Nano editor installed via the ports collection, this is what I have done/tried

portsnap fetch extract update
cd /usr/ports/editors/nano
make install clean

I get the error C compiler cannot create executables.

I was mucking around, trying to get other programs installed, all give the same error, so it looks like I am missing something, but I have been unable to determine what I am missing

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance
Tim

I’m not sure if this still valid advice, but I remember someone mentioning NOT to use ports, and use either pkg or appcafe under sysadm to install packages.

The error should be telling you something like “…install llvm39…”. The basic problem is there’s no compiler installed.
Now that said, the TrueOS ports repo is over on GitHUB, not the FreeBSD ports servers. The TrueOS ports tree is modified from the FreeBSD base: it has OpenRC changes, pulls in changes from the FreeBSD graphics stack plus more. So if your ports directory was setup against FreeBSD, you’re not going to be happy with anything built.
TrueOS also builds ports (maybe the whole system) against LibreSSL intead of OpenSSL, so there are make config changes you’ll want.

As pointed out by @Groot it’s simpler to pull down the binary package and install that. Fire up the sysadm-client, app cafe, search for Nano and install.

must not be used. A previous edition of the guide cautioned against its use. I don’t know why the caution was removed.

https://www.trueos.org/handbook/using.html#freebsd-ports says:

When fetching ports for the first time:

# git clone http://github.com/trueos/freebsd-ports.git /usr/ports

To update an existing local ports directory:

# cd /usr/ports
# git pull