Optimal hardware for TrueOS

Hello Everyone

I am going to use TrueOS as my main desktop. With that end in mind, I will purchase the following hardware. A friend of mine who knows about FreeBSD/TrueOS recommended this hardware config. I can not wait to receive the assembled parts and to get it working.

Please find the hardware specs below, just for curiosity sake.

Processor Intel Core i5-6400 Quad-Core 2.7GHz c/ Turbo 3.3GHz 6MB Skt1151 (BX80662I56400)

Motherboard Asus Z170-P (90MB0NR0-M0EAY0)

RAM Crucial Ballistix 8GB (2x4GB) DDR4-2400MHz Cinzentas (BLS2C4G4D240FSB)
HDD 3.5" Western Digital Blue 1TB 7200RPM 64MB SATA III (WD10EZEX)

SSD 2.5" Samsung 850 Evo 250GB TLC SATA (MZ-75E250B/EU)

Power Supply Corsair Builder CX500W (CP-9020047-EU)

Corsair Carbide 100R Silent Edition (CC-9011077-WW)

Since I am an absolute novice (and i do mean novice) in these adventures, i would like to ask you cats the following:

-To install TrueOS in the clean system, I will have to go to BIOS (of ASUS motherboard) change the boot order (into install USB), install TrueOS and then, once installed, go back to BIOS and change boot order to SSD (where OS will be installed) as first choice.

Am I correct??

Greets and thanks for any help you may be able to offer.

LeonZ

Hardware Recommendations for New TrueOS Users

You may not have muck in the bios too much; you’ll probably want to make sure it in UEFI mode and install everything that way.
Reason for maybe not having to muck in the BIOS: lots of times you can define a boot order, if there is nothing there, it goes to the next one on the list.
If you can afford to, I’d get another WD drive the same size, ZFS mirror them and use them for your home partition/user data, leave the SSD solely for OS (makes it easy to upgrade in the future).