New to BSD. Printing issues

Hi. I installed TrueOS Stable on my Lenovo T420 laptop. Works great. I’m new to BSD but have 20 years experience with Linux, mostly Debian. I tried to get my Brother MFC-J88DW network printer to work with TrueOS and failed. I copied the Debian PPD files to appropriate TrueOS locations and CUPS said it was successful when printing a test page. Nothing came from the printer. I conclude that this cheap printer does not speak PostScript natively and relies on the Linux kernel to work. I have located a printer that is listed in the openprinters.org database and shown in my TrueOS printer list. This printer offers IBM AIX and Sun Solaris drivers in addition to a Debian driver. If I buy this printer, which of these drivers would be of the most help for TrueOS? Thanks.

also look in AppCafe for a program called hplip.

its an hp gui

Thanks. hplip will help if I decide on an hp printer. I’m looking at a Lexmark printer and wondering if either Unix driver would be useful. Whatever I buy, I will have it installed on my Debian computers as well as the TrueOS laptop so will have access to the ppd files from the Debian install. I want to be able to move to TrueOS or other BSD if/when the Linux kernel becomes unusable as has been predicted.

my bad.

i found that linux ppd, should not matter. work sometimes, sometimes not.

Lexmark has been a notoriously windos printer, in the past.

Have you looked here?

http://www.openprinting.org/printers/manufacturer/Brother

or here

http://www.openprinting.org/printers/manufacturer/Lexmark