Lumina vs KDE - what’s the difference?

When I first got interest in FreeBSD about 4 years ago, I wanted to run KDE. I spent a week working on it but got smart and switched to TrueOS. I’m not a programmer so if the tutorial I’m following isn’t perfect it takes a lot of reading and research to figure it out. Well anyways TrueOS is great and easy, like Ubuntu. But I’m just wondering what the difference is between Lumina and KDE is/are.

I was disappointed to see the change from PC-BSD to TrueOS but honestly don’t know enough to know if it really matters. Thanks.

Searching for KDE or Lumina on this forum will present you with a lot of different views.
From a developer’s point of view the being in command of dependencies is an important factor. KDE is much more complicated in this way.
Typically I am looking at the desktop environment as a user. There you are running into all the different ‘feelings’. There are people utilizing the command line only because of all this bloat of any desktop environment or graphical user interface at all. Most people get used to a specific ‘look and feel’ of their working environment and are not appreciating any change. Look and feel is just different between KDE and Lumina. Over time I have used Open Box, Gnome 1+2, KDE, XFCE and now of course Lumina. No desktop environment was ever convincing enough for me to get married. :wink:

Will both environments run the same programs? As in the only thing I might be missing by not runnninf KDE is just being able to tailor the look and feel more?

The short answer is ‘No’.
For instance both environments have a file manager but they aren’t identical. If you search for ‘Dolphin’ here in this forum, you get a list of posts which give the impression that it is not trivial to use this KDE file manager on TrueOS. Applications like an office suit or a browser can be installed via AppCafe independent of any desktop environment.