Live USB image?

Hi all,

I’m new here, so thanks in advance for your patience.

I’m considering setting up a TrueOS desktop machine, but before doing so I’d like to get a sense of Lumina. Is there anyway of installing it on a USB stick so I can take a look, and also test whether it works OK with the hardware I have?

By way of background: I have around ten years’ experience running FreeBSD as a server, and I’ve been running Linux on the desktop since 2004. My current choice for DE is Cinnamon (Mint), and I’d like to get a sense of how Lumina compares before I take the plunge.

Thanks,
Colin

If you’re running Linux currently, have you looked to see if there is a Lumina package already built? If so, you could simply install that and try it out on hardware you know works. Worst case is it may not be the absolute latest version of Lumina, but should be close enough for you to get an idea of how it feels in use.

As for hardware compatibility there is the ability to check when booted up into the installer, but that is just basic “yep this should work”.

The “…works OK” part is twofold: does the base OS work on your hardware and how does Lumina work on that OS.

There is no live USB image of TrueOS, just install images for USB/DVD media.
You could always install it into a VM on your Linux box to give it a “test run” if you like. :slight_smile:

There are a number of people who have been asking about live images recently, and we are open to the idea, but there are still some technical limitations on the FreeBSD side of things that we need to work out before we are willing to officially support another type of image… :wink:

I’m all for it, too. :slight_smile:

I’d really like to “upgrade” my PC-BSD 9.x live usb stick…

(Only downside would be “no 32bit” - and you never know which old pc you run into on which you want or need to run your stick-OS.)