Greetings and a question or three

Hello.

So, after several attempts at installing FreeBSD and Dragonfly BSD (and two previous failed attempts at getting TrueOS into working order) I have learned enough to get this far - TrueOS installed. Desktop in reasonable shape. Some extra apps installed.
(Started using Linux in 2002 and used it mostly through to late 2015. Spent two and a bit years using Macs, then back to Linux earlier this year when the last Mac died. I’m not a programmer or a sysadmin. Just a power user with a hunger for the not so well known.)
Some questions…

Even with the nv driver (rock solid performance under Linux) I have shocking screen tearing when moving windows. Last time I chose the nvidia drivers during first boot after install, it resulted in a grey screen that I couldn’t get past.
Is there’s a “step by step guide” for noobs like me?

Apart from Thunderbird, are there any mail clients capable of multiple accounts? Trojita seems to be able to do only one.

Audacious and xmms report as “unmaintained”. Are they dangerous or just obsolete now? What replaces them?

I have a 1TB ext4 HD in this pc. How I mount it correctly? I presume I can add such a line to fstab? (Assuming BSD uses fstab).

Any general tips/advice/sources would be most welcomed. Now I have the screen in a half decent state I can start on the handbook.

Thanks

ext4 is a roll of the dice. install fuse, and it should be able to using the command line.

No guide at the moment :frowning: just a 4 person team. On that ever growing list of things to do.

most installed apps are QT, to keep ISO small. they do get you online.

Nvidia drivers sorted. Screen tearing gone.

Hard drive issue resolved. I copied the required data on to a spare fat32 drive and that’s worked perfectly.

Music collection manager resolved. Clementine to the rescue.

I can put up with Thunderbird.

Almost ready to give BSD a go at being the daily machine.

i use claws-mail for my client