FreeBSD Novice related

I am on Day # 2 with about 16 hours of usage of the updated version of TrueOS ( Lumina 1.2.1, etc ) I am telling everybody I know in the Linux community how cool this is and all I get is yawns. They say to just stick with Ubuntu MATE, especially since I am a novice. So I guess the question is or are, how do you all tell people how great TrueOS is. What software do you like to run on TrueOS. I am having fun playing Palapeli ( puzzle ), and Aisleriot. Are there any good Qt-based games or BSD specific games. I have loaded a bunch, but have not tried them yet.

I guess my next question is why do you use the Insight File Manager, when there are already 10 popular file managers ? How do I know I have the latest version of Insight, and what version is it ? Is it only for TrueOS ?

Anybody have an TrueOS tips for a novice ? Like what Graphics Card should I purchase ? Or what CPU works
best, or what memory works best ? Or what motherboard works best ? etc.

Glad that you’re liking TrueOS so far. My answers to your questions are based on my experience with using FreeBSD as a desktop at home for a long time and what I use it for (software development, remote access back to work). Others may (will) tell you different.
Software: minimal. A web browser (lean toward Firefox/Qupzilla over Chrome), email client (I’ve finally graduated away from Alpine to Claws), LibreOffice, GnuCash (got to keep track of how the money gets spent), editors (emacs if I’m spending lots of time in code, vi for short stuff). Games are either mahjongg or solitare (I’m not a gamer), that’s about it.

Hardware: whatever you want/can afford. I’ve always been partial to Gigabyte motherboards, name brand memory (GSkill, Corsair, Kingston), CPU either Intel or AMD. Graphics cards: Nvidia is probably the better choice at the moment (pick a price range for your performance).