Cannot install hp-plugin (scanner)

I’ve just recently switched to TrueOS from Linux and I must say, I think it is a most excellent OS and Desktop (Lumina). I have been using Debian as my workstation for a few years, Scribus/Inkscape/Gimp for desktop publishing in the printing industry. But I started to have some serious instability problems with systemd.

However, being new to TrueOS, I’ve still a few small details to sort out, so please bear with.

I want to make clear also that this hp printer/scanner is LAN, not usb.

I have tried to install the hp-plugin for xsane, first with the gui (when launching the xsane app), then with the terminal by using the hp-plugin command, (as user and root) but the download will not proceed and the install fails.

I have of course installed the hplip package first, and have opened ports in the firewall for xsane. Am I missing something else that I need to install?

Please advise, thanks.

Hi…

Same problem here!

After installing wget and gnugp I am so far:

INSTALLING PLUG-IN

Creating directory plugin_tmp
Verifying archive integrity… All good.
Uncompressing HPLIP 3.17.4 Plugin Self Extracting Archive…
eval: ./hplip-plugin-install: not found
error: Python gobject/dbus may be not installed

Done.

It would be great to have my Laserjet available on TrueOS!

How to continue?

Thx

have you attempted to install the hplip package?

sure!

Otherwise the hp-plugin command wouldnt work;)
Interestingly hplip does not pullin “wget” to download and “gnugp” to verify the plugin.

I keep getting the identical message in the terminal as rehcla, and have not, as yet installed “wget” or 'gnugp".

Would it be possible to get that hp-plugin somehow, and at the very least install it manually?

What DE are you using? With Lumina and default Desktop selection wget and gnupg are not installed, at least at my setup…

Greetings

I’m using Lumina as well.